Press

The Yogaboard in “Die Höhle der Löwen”: We ventured into the lions den!

“I’m sweating like crazy!” laughs the lioness Judith Williams after only a few minutes of training on the board. No wonder: our board really offers a challenge. The curved underside intensifies every workout – and brings the feeling of water on land. That’s exactly what we wanted to convince investors in the VOX TV show. On October 10th 2018, we ventured into the cave to present the yogaboard to the lions. The goal: to present our board to a large television audience and make a clear deal – 275,000 euros investment for 10 percent stake in the company.

About the Show

“Die Höhle der Löwen” is a german television show featured on the channel VOX. It is an spin-off of the Show “Dragons’ Den” or “Shark Tank” featuring a very similar concept. In the show, inventors and company founders present their innovative business ideas to the “lions” and offer them business shares in relation to the determined company value. The “lions” are prominent investors who invest their own capital in companies of their choice and accompany them professionally with their knowledge and experience. The presentations broadcasted in a show are cut from various recordings and not all recorded pitches are aired.

We tell the lions our story

When we entered the studio, the lions were already sitting in their chairs with a bold stare – and admittedly, we were pretty nervous when we began our pitch. As best friends, who have known each other since childhood, we founded our company two years ago. Our vision: Create a high-quality, sustainable balance board that conquers the world and creates a fitness trend. Dreamed. Done. Today, we deliver to more than 30 countries around the globe, we already own the German patent for our yogaboard, and an international patent is on its way. We are particularly proud to be awarded the ISPO Award in the Fitness and Health Category in 2017 and 2018.

We tell the lions our story
At first, Judith Williams is reluctant. Well, it didn’t take long as she finally takes off her shoes and bravely masters the warrior position with Shida’s help.

The lions climb on the Boards

The lions are also impressed. But enough of the theory, let’s get down to business! We bring our brand ambassador Shida of Puls Yoga on stage – the long-time professional yoga teacher presents her skills on the board. And the lions? At first, Judith Williams is reluctant. Well, it didn’t take long as she finally takes off her shoes and bravely masters the warrior position with Shida’s help. Williams is immediately impressed by the quality: “The board feels extremely high quality.” Carsten Maschmeyer is now spurred on – and even dares to do pushups on the board. He raises one arm and lets out a laugh after realizing that training on the board requires much practice, strength, and focus than he thought.

Deal or no Deal?
Deal or no Deal?

Lioness Dagmar Wöhrl praises our yogaboard: “It has amazing workmanship, it felt really great.” She admits to enjoying practicing yoga – but desires inner peace, which she missed on our board. At first glance, this is understandable – the shakiness requires a high degree of balance. It is exactly that, which encourages inner peace. Furthermore, new mindfulness exercises focus on this aspect: the stronger the concentration on a certain thing, the more possible it becomes to switch off, to sharpen the focus. Unfortunately the time is too short to prove that to Dagmar Wöhrl. She is out. No Deal.

What about our investment favorite Ralf Dümmel? He is fascinated but has already invested in a company that is moving in a similar direction and does not want to compete with himself. Of course we understand that and say: Challenge accepted! Now things are really taking off. In Germany alone, there are over 6000 yoga studios and in the USA there are almost as many yoga studios as there are Starbucks. The SUP yoga trend, which rippled like a wave over all studios this summer, is also attracting more and more surfers and board athletes to our board.

Out of the niche and into main stream!

The health industry has its doors wide open for us. Many physiotherapists already offer courses on the yogaboard – and the costs are covered by the health insurance. As the founding magazine deutsche startups (LINK) states: “This presents a great way for the yoga niche to address preventive and healthcare markets. The powerful activation of deep muscles through the increased demand of balance is noticed once you first step foot on the board.” Ultimately, our fitness trend is not only interesting for yogis, physiotherapists and surfers, but is suitable for all athletes as injury prevention and balance training.

We thank you!

“A great product, two promising founders. Continue to invest in yourself and your board, “says Lioness Judith Williams at the end of the show. And that is exactly what we will do. We would like to take this opportunity to officially thank everyone who supported and encouraged us along the way. We are touched by your gigantic feedback – on Facebook, Instagram and in-person. Even if the deal did not work out, it was an honor to be on the show. The fact that we were allowed to present our yogaboard to so many spectators is a great opportunity for us. Now we are heating up production once again and moving full speed ahead! And pssst: We already have ideas for further, exciting fitness trends up our sleeves …

COME SEE US AT OUR NEXT EVENT

Presse
Das Yogaboard in der Höhle der Löwen: Wir wagten uns in die TV-Show

„Ich bin nassgeschwitzt“, lacht die Löwin Judith Williams nach nur wenigen Minuten Training auf dem Board. Kein Wunder: Unser Board hat`s wirklich in sich. Durch die geschwungene Unterseite wird jedes Training intensiviert – und bringt das Gefühl von Wasser an Land. Genau damit wollen wir die Investoren in der VOX-TV-Show überzeugen: Am 10. Oktober wagten wir uns in die Höhle, um den Löwen das Yogaboard zu präsentieren. Das Ziel: Unser Board einem großen TV-Publikum präsentieren und einen Deal klarmachen – 275.000 Euro Investment für 10 Prozent Firmenanteil.

Wir erzählen den Löwen unsere Story

Als wir das Studio betreten, sitzen die Löwen schon mit Pirschblick in ihren Sesseln – und zugegeben: Wir sind ganz schön aufgeregt, als wir unsere Geschichte erzählen. Als beste Freunde, die sich schon seit Kindertagen kennen, gründeten wir unsere Firma vor zwei Jahren. Unsere Vision: Ein hochwertiges, nachhaltiges Balanceboard erschaffen, das die Welt erobert und einen Fitnesstrend kreiert. Geträumt, getan: Heute liefern wir in über 30 Länder rund um den Globus, wir besitzen bereits das Deutsche Patent für unser Yogaboard, während das internationale Patent schon beantragt ist. Besonders stolz sind wir darauf, dass wir 2017 mit dem IPSO-Award in der Kategorie Fitness & Health ausgezeichnet wurden.

Wir erzählen den Löwen unsere Story
Als Erste traut sich Judith Williams, zieht die Schuhe aus und meistert mit Shidas Hilfe mit Bravour die Kriegerposition.

Die Löwen klettern auf unsere Yogaboards

Davon zeigen sich auch die Löwen beeindruckt. Doch genug der Theorie, jetzt geht’s ans Eingemachte: Wir holen unsere Markenbotschafterin Shida von Puls-Yoga mit auf die Bühne – die langjährige Profi-Yogalehrerin präsentiert ihr Können auf dem Board. Und die Löwen? Als Erste traut sich Judith Williams, zieht die Schuhe aus und meistert mit Shidas Hilfe mit Bravour die Kriegerposition. Dabei ist Williams sofort begeistert von der Qualität: „Das Board fühlt sich extrem hochwertig an.“ Carsten Maschmeyer ist jetzt angestachelt – und wagt sogar Liegestütze auf dem Board. Erst als er dabei einen Arm hebt, muss er lachend kapitulieren. Kein Wunder, denn das Yogaboard-Training erfordert jede Menge Übung, Kraft und Ausdauer.

Deal or no Deal?
Deal or no Deal?

Auch Löwin Dagmar Wöhrl lobt unser Yogaboard: „Das ist eine tolle Verarbeitung, es hat sich ganz toll angefühlt.“ Sie praktiziert gern Yoga – wünscht sich dabei jedoch innere Ruhe, die sie auf unserem Board vermisst. Auf den ersten Blick ist das nachvollziehbar – erfordert das wacklige Training eine kraftvolle Balance. Genau das ist es jedoch, was die innere Ruhe sogar bestärkt. Neue Achtsamkeitsübungen setzen schließlich gezielt auf diesen Aspekt: Je stärker die Konzentration auf eine bestimmte Sache, desto besser gelingt es abzuschalten, den Fokus zu schärfen. Leider ist die Zeit zu kurz, um Dagmar Wöhrl das zu beweisen. Sie ist raus. No Deal.

Und unser Investment-Favorit Ralf Dümmel? Er zeigt sich fasziniert, hat jedoch bereits in ein Unternehmen investiert, das in eine ähnliche Richtung geht, und will sich selbst keine Konkurrenz machen. Das verstehen wir natürlich und sagen: Challenge accepted! Denn jetzt legen wir erst richtig los: Allein in Deutschland gibt es über 6000 Yogastudios und in den USA existieren Pi mal Daumen beinah so viele Yoga-Studios wie Starbucks. Der SUP-Yoga-Trend, der diesen Sommer wie eine Welle über sämtliche Studios wogte, zieht außerdem immer mehr Surfer und Brettsportler auf unser Board.

Raus aus der Nische!

Eine weitere Branche, die sich uns erschließt, ist die der Gesundheit: So bieten bereits viele Physiotherapeuten Kurse auf dem Yogaboard an – und die Kosten übernimmt die Krankenkasse, wie auch das Gründermagazin deutsche startups (LINK) konstatiert: „So kann aus der Yoga-Nische heraus auch der Markt für Präventions- und Gesundheitssport adressiert werden, denn die stärkere Aktivierung der Tiefenmuskulatur durch die Balance-Anforderungen des Boards merkt man schon bei den ersten Übungen.“ Letztlich ist unser Fitnesstrend jedoch nicht nur für Yogis, Physiotherapeuten und Surfer interessant, sondern für alle Balancesportler als Verletzungsprophylaxe und Balancetraining super geeignet.

Wir sagen Danke!

„Ein tolles Produkt, zwei vielversprechende Gründer. Investieren Sie weiter in sich selbst und ihr Board“, sagt Löwin Judith Williams zum Ende der Sendung. Und genau das werden wir tun. Wir möchten uns an dieser Stelle offiziell bei allen bedanken, die uns auf unserem Weg unterstützt und mitgefiebert haben. Wir sind gerührt von eurem gigantischen Feedback – auf Facebook, Instagram und vis-à-vis. Auch wenn der Deal nicht geklappt hat, war es uns eine Ehre, bei der Höhle der Löwen dabei gewesen zu sein. Dass wir unser Yogaboard so vielen Zuschauen präsentieren durften, ist für uns eine großartige Chance: Jetzt heizen wir unsere Produktion nochmal so richtig an und geben im Vertrieb ordentlich Gas! Und pssst: Wir haben schon Ideen für weitere, spannende Fitnesstrends in der Schublade…

COME SEE US AT OUR NEXT EVENT